contact be on of us recent in the past
he passed out, a hollow victory | 14 November 2001 | 6:35 pm


in nursery school we had a play. it was a nativity thing, of course, my school held in a tiny church basement where all we could do was ride three-wheelers around in circles all day out of boredom.

in the play i was a donkey.

somewhere in some large photo book on some dusty shelf -- there is a picture of me standing in the background, burlap sack over my head with rubber-banded ears. i cried the whole time, ...hard to breathe in a burlap sack you know.

in fifth grade we had a play...the legend of sleepy hollow. i was the headless horseman, coconut hoof noises and everything. my pumpkin head was a basketball, all construction papered up.

i hated ichabod. i hated everyone.

when the time came for me to toss my "pumpkin" at him, out the door of the classroom, i railed it at his head.

he passed out, a hollow victory.

oh, a pun.

in 12th grade i was the rose seller in the musical oliver...fun. i loved/hated every minute.

my prize was being the one to take the undertaker's coffin home...my parents still keep the xmas tree in it in the attic.

...just remembering.


. . . my previous . . . and next madrigals | guestbook |