contact be on of us recent in the past
a hermit's life | 17 January 2003 | 9:05 am


i would say the only bad thing about driving is that i am not the only one on the road. it is them against me, and more likely than not, it is them hitting me.

there was just a close call...i could very easily not be here right now. this was certainly nothing as severe/traumatic as idlechic's experience, but i am still shakey.

two lanes one way and two the other with no median. I am in the fast lane, not too fast but moving with traffic. the ford did not see me, pulling directly over from the right to left --- and almost in to me, missing me by mere inches.

why did they miss me?
because i swerved out across the median into oncoming traffic.
needles to say, i am overjoyed there was no truck there. that would have been quite the lovely head-on.

the car is fine, and i will be fine in a few hours.

at least when i walked into work today i had an excuse for the puffy red eyes and nose, the wet cheeks. the accident story was much better than letting them know about my moving anxiety, the fears that everything will fall through and TT and i will be left with a house full of stuff, no apartment in CA, no job for me in CA, no money or flight to get there. there was no reason to even hint that i was crying all morning, even before my close call.

somehow i have to fix this, for noone should have to be that patient and understanding.

perhaps a hermit's life is the life for me.


. . . my previous . . . and next madrigals | guestbook |